Purchasing Old/New Content

I have recently decided to get back into 3D art after a 15 year hiatus. A LOT has changed. In addition to needing to master the latest incarnation of 3D software, almost all of my original content is gone and I want to replace it with something better. This is a rabbit hole with a very deep bottom, though. I'm just a hobbyist with practically no knowledge beyond the basics of how to put things together in a scene and render it. I've looked through the store a bit, and there is a bit of confusion regarding the genesis figures. At first, I thought they were each individual figures, but it seems it's just one mesh that has been morphed? Even male and females are still the same mesh with different parameters applied? Is content for Vicky for example, usable on another figure? I'm assuming this is not the case, and to do so would require a lot of fiddling and/or additional software to make it happen. So, if I decide to buy a figure and accompanying accessories, I'd like to get the most bang for my buck.

This discussion: https://www.daz3d.com/forums/discussion/210021/new-clothing-still-looks-like-stiff-tubes/p1 has me wondering if I'm better off buying content for older figures, since it's cheaper and there's a lot more of it, or taking a leap of faith and buying the newer, more expensive content on the grounds that it's supposedly better and will continue to improve in quantity and quality over time.

I'm also wondering, since I'm practically starting from scratch, is if there is a certain core group of content I should focus on first? Like, it seems to me that packages or bundles that offer the ability to customize figures (head and body morphs) would be a sound investment that I could get a lot of mileage from. If it matters, I'm primarily interested in fantasy themes with the occasional toon thrown in.

Thanks for any helpful advice you may have.

Comments

• IceDragonArtIceDragonArt Posts: 12,548
    edited November 2017