Is Photoshop the ony way

Hello I am really new to all this and just wondering if photoshop is the only photo editng software that you can use to make the mapping for changing or adding things to skins of people. like tatts and furs and all that. just watched a great vid on changing the fur of the warewolf and talked abought the mapping. I use corel paintshop pro for photo editing but has nothing like the mapping.

Comments

• No, any image editor will do (ideally one with layers, though even that might be dispensible in simple cases).

• Thank's 

• Assuming you're looking for a recommendation for a Photoshop alternative: Gimp is open source and thus free. It has many of the same features, though not all. There's a bit of a learning curve with either, so use youtube to find some introductory tutorials.

• srieschsriesch Posts: 4,241
    edited November 2017

I think you are looking to create UV mapping, not just painting the image over an existing template?  (For just painting onto a flat canvas, paint shop pro would essentially do the same things photoshop and gimp would do, but I don't think that is what you are looking for.).  Somebody else will have to offer suggestions if that is what you are looking for though.

UVMapper, for example.  But I believe there is software that lets you paint directly onto a 3D object, which might be what you want.

Post edited by sriesch on
  • IceDragonArtIceDragonArt Posts: 12,548
    sriesch said:

I think you are looking to create UV mapping, not just painting the image over an existing template?  (For just painting onto a flat canvas, paint shop pro would essentially do the same things photoshop and gimp would do, but I don't think that is what you are looking for.).  Somebody else will have to offer suggestions if that is what you are looking for though.

UVMapper, for example.  But I believe there is software that lets you paint directly onto a 3D object, which might be what you want.