Setting up quick backdrops for 'photo-shoot' purposes.

Hello All,

I am new to Daz Studio having signed up in December of last year (2018) and at only two months in, I have already aquired much in terms of product from the Daz Store.  I have many environments already, but I sadly, I do not have a GPU on my machine and I am rendering with the processor only.   This does yeild to some very slow render times.   Often times, I find it is the background that is causing the slow down as if I just render the character alone, the render times are much faster.   I have a beach setting which is just a backdrop that came with Daz and I found that background renders very fast.   So I am wonder if there was a way to create a studio like backdrop just to frame my characters out.   I know that the Daz store has such items and they often come with light settings and other things, but I am just after some nice backdrops.  Is there anyway I could do so with a photo?  I am looking to have a backdrop with a ground like what they have in a photo studio.

Is there anyway I can do this on my own, or do I have to purchase one of those 'photo-studio' sets?

Thank You

Comments

• You want HDR images - there are many in the store, there are also freebies around (though they often stipulate no commercial use).

Another option would be to use the Sun and Sky settings to set the tiem of day/location that you want, render that with no actual backdrop, and save as Tiff/PNG for compositing with a photo - for ground shadows, if needed, you'd have to add a shadow catcher.

• barbultbarbult Posts: 23,050
    edited February 2019

Daz Studio has an Environment pane. You can add a photo there and it will appear in your rendered scene as a backdrop. I use it frequently. 

1. First go to menu Window/Panes (Tabs)/Environment to add the Environment pane to your workspace.