Huge HDRI maps are lagging Daz Studio

So... I've been using DAZ for 3 years now, and I noticed something that dates back all the way to 4.11 or so (Currently on 4.14)

When I use a huge HDRI map (like 12000x12000 or 16000x160000), whenever i try to perform certain actions, DAZ is becoming incredibly laggy. This happens when:

1) I'm saving the file with CTRL+S - daz freezes for 5-15 seconds, which does not happen if there is no HDRI or if it's small (like 2048x2048)

2) If the "Enviroment" tab is open with the huge HDRI loaded, no matter what i do - move an object, etc - DAZ just lags horribly

3) When I try to change the huge HDRI to something else, hovering around it's icon makes DAZ freeze for a couple seconds.

Is there any workaroud to this?

My specs:

i7 8700

RTX 3090

64 GB ram

NVME ssd's

Win 10 x64, latest build

Comments

• SevrinSevrin Posts: 6,301

I'm not sure that's to do with the resolution of the HDRI.  I've had DS 4.15 get laggy for no apparent reason recently.

• FSMCDesignsFSMCDesigns Posts: 12,557
    edited April 2021

I am not on 4.15, but I find with the higher the resolution of HDRI, the more it lags. I have a nice collection of HDRI files and usually have them in 4K as well as 16K or larger so I can use the 4k during setup and the larger size for the final render.

Post edited by FSMCDesigns on
  • LeanaLeana Posts: 11,025

Well a high res HDRI would use more RAM and would have more points to compute lighting from, so it's not really surprising.

• mwasielewski1990mwasielewski1990 Posts: 315
    edited April 2021

Leana said:

Well a high res HDRI would use more RAM and would have more points to compute lighting from, so it's not really surprising.

I was talking about working in texture shaded mode, not actual rendering. It has nothing to do with computing lighting from HDRI.

Post edited by mwasielewski1990 on
  • blazblaz Posts: 261