Render Guesstimates/NVIDIA Veteran Question

Hey y'all. Nice to meet you, my name is Samantha. I am new to the DAZ community and have enjoyed personalized 3d storytelling for a long time. 

I am currently working on a storyboard animatic for a music video concept. My question is for the seasoned NVIDIA users out there. How fast does your graphics card render out single 1080p images? I am currently working on a Macbook Pro 2018 and it takes at least an hour with me ending renders at about 85%. I plan to do the majority of my animation work using my laptop but definitely hesitate to render. With the market as it is for GPUs, I figure if I want any more speed (and to not devastate my machine) I will have to rent a better computer. 

I wonder how much time am I wasting waiting around for single renders? Is there a recommended spec range for high-quality and faster-than-this renders? Is anyone processing long-form hi-res content full-time?

I am so excited about this opportunity to create beautiful scenes! Thanks so much for your help. I look forward to your insights!

Comments

• A Windows machine with an nVidia GPU (that can hold the data) will be much faster than your current system, though without knowing more about what you are rendering it's impossible to guess by how much. Of course it does depend on the scene fitting into the GPU's memory, again without more information it's not possible to offer any sensible guidance.

• 31415926543141592654 Posts: 967

There are a lot of variables involved, but I can share my experience - and I do a lot of 1080p images and animations.

But first, I might suggest that if this is a one time project, perhaps a render farm might be better for you. I think even Jack Tomalin's service now does animation as well.