Adding Dual Quaternion support to UnrealEngine4 (Images inside)

Comments

•  Hey guy, total newb here :D . Any kind soul who could help me out with installing/ getting this to run? Here is what I have done so far, but while the engine runs and compiles, the mesh still distorts as it would in a un modified engine.

I have installed 4.20 using UE4 Launcher

I have downloaded the .zip corresponding with the engine version from github: https://github.com/AlienRenders/UnrealEngine/tree/4.21-mod

I have unzipped and pasted the files over the install directory for 4.20, replacing existing files.

Loaded the editor

Loaded an existing project that contained a gen8 mesh

Compiled it to test, and it compiles.

Now, who could help me with this, maybe a video tutorial? or at least some detailed steps?

PS: My project is BP only and I suck big time at c++.....

• MacislavMacislav Posts: 126

@AlienRenders: Sorry for my delayed answer (was away doing some other non-gamedev related stuff in the last few weeks/months)

I'm using your Dual Quaternion Skinning Version 4.21 and I've tried to reproduce the scaling glitch. Scaling of arms seems to work, but when I try to scale and rotate a bone (mostly face expressions), then there

are distortions in Unreal Engine (in Blender everything works just fine).

@strezoiualexandru: The newest version now is 4.21. You should use that one. As for building it, there is a tutorial, which explains everything step by step:

https://docs.unrealengine.com/en-US/GettingStarted/DownloadingUnrealEngine

https://docs.unrealengine.com/en-us/Programming/Development/BuildingUnrealEngine

• @strezoiualexandru You have to build the engine with the source. You only need 4.21-mod and get the free msvc2017 compiler. The build instructions are a little wonky though. I think you need to run Setup first. This should download and install prebuilt third party libs. Then run GenerateProjectFiles. Then open the solution and build the release version of the editor.