Hexagon crashes while working with Text 3D Primitive

perficimusperficimus Posts: 0
edited June 2020 in Hexagon Discussion

Dear community

I am new to Hexa (2.5.2.109) and everything works fine, except when working with 3D text primitives.

I just work on one single 3D character.

DG Mode is OFF, OpenGL optimization is on NO optimization, my NVIDIA 2080 has 3x buffering OFF and Threadened optimization OFF (that is what I found up to now surfing this problem in the internet).

BUT IT CRASHES! Very often, when setting higher tessalation, or when trying to weld some points of that character (after having ungrouped that objet to the root) it olso crashes trying to use utilities/triangulate n-gons...

Help me please, I am desasperate. when melting points of other 3D Proimitives as cubes or cylinders nothing crashes, Hexagon works, it's only when working with 3D text.

Any helpo is much appreciated, thanks a lot

Perficimus

Post edited by perficimus on

Comments

• FirstBastionFirstBastion Posts: 7,220
    edited June 2020

I found that the Cararra 3D Text function was significantly more stable than the Hexagon text. The few times I tried text in Hexagon, only plain non-bevelled basic font like Arial tended to work. Cararra's text function is more robust. Admittedly I had both programs to choose from but Carrara certainly has some robust modelling features plus an excellent renderer..

One suggestion for Hexagon. Save out the text as an obj. Restart Hexagon. Then import the obj and work from there.

Post edited by FirstBastion on
  • jjmainorjjmainor Posts: 473
    edited June 2020

I'd suggest using the beta version instead.  It's still buggy, but nowhere near as buggy as the official release.  I've used it to create to create text objects with little problem.  Like the "bee" object in the background...

Post edited by Chohole on
  • Catherine3678abCatherine3678ab Posts: 7,992

This is on sale atm, save some hair ;-) https://www.daz3d.com/rw-letters-and-more