Total Noob Question: Daz Script calling a Plugin or dll? [SOLVED]

bigD3dbigD3d Posts: 75

Hello everyone,

I have a project I'm doing which I hope to get onto the store at some point. At the moment i'm struggling through some image processing/manipulation where i'm iterating over every pixel in an image (Image.setPixel(x,y,color)).

For small images it can finish relatively quickly like in about 30 seconds to 1 min. But as the image size gets larger I've had it take as long as 10-15 minutes. And this is on my Ryzen 3900X with 64gb of ram. I still have more code to add in to polish it out which may raise this by a factor of 4 and maybe even 16. 

All this has me thinking I need to offload this part of the process and have it be done in C++ as either a plugin or maybe a dll? And then hopefully that plugin or dll can be called from my existing Daz Scripts passing in the needed params?

I am not a C++ coder and never done anything with DLLs - which is why I started doing this project in Daz Script in the first place.But if there's no way to increase the processing speed, then I may be forced to anyway.

Assuming for arguments sake there is a way to do this, would I use DzProcess() to make the call to that plugin/dll, or is there another way I haven't seen yet?

Thanks for any light anyone can shed on this.

Post edited by bigD3d on

Comments

• A plug-in is a .dll. You could write the difficult bit as an external application (.exe) and then use DzProcess() to launch it with a command line, for a plug-in you don't call anything in that sense - the plug-in has to be written to make certain functions and objects publicly available and then a script can call those (that is how Figure metrics can use the Measure Metrics plug-in).

• bigD3dbigD3d Posts: 75

Thanks Richard,

so if I understand you right I have these two options?

1) make my code into an exe. In my Daz Script use DzProcess() to run it as if it was being run via the command line.