Unreal Engine for making Movie/Animations?

wintoonswintoons Posts: 371
edited October 2020 in Unreal Discussion

Hi, 

I am new to the Unreal Engine, and I'm really interested in learning what it can and can't do. 
What I would love to know is it good to make just animations/movies? Or is it really for Gaming? 

Sorry, if I am asking a silly question on here. 

Post edited by wintoons on

Comments

• WendyLuvsCatzWendyLuvsCatz Posts: 37,713

it is indeed used by professional studios to make movies as well as games

and yes it has a cinematic sequencer

• EllessarrEllessarr Posts: 1,390
    wintoons said:

Hi, 

I am new to the Unreal Engine, and I'm really interested in learning what it can and can't do. 
    What I would love to know is it good to make just animations/movies? Or is it really for Gaming? 

mandalorian serie is being made using unreal engine as the 3d program, you can make moves and animations without any issue with unreal, infact you can even animate all inside unreal without need a "third part" program, or can use one of the unreal build inside bridges to maya or blender to animate in real time inside then and update inside unreal, or just animate all inside unreal.

• wintoonswintoons Posts: 371
    Ellessarr said:
    wintoons said:

Hi, 

mandalorian serie is being made using unreal engine as the 3d program, you can make moves and animations without any issue with unreal, infact you can even animate all inside unreal without need a "third part" program, or can use one of the unreal build inside bridges to maya or blender to animate in real time inside then and update inside unreal, or just animate all inside unreal.

That's really interesting. I've been wanting to work on my animation series on a different platform for better performance and experience. And also use the assets I've bought on Daz3d. 

• Here's an example https://www.unrealengine.com/en-US/spotlights/animated-children-s-series-zafari-springs-to-life-with-unreal-engine