Separating head and body

Hello,

I have been tweaking a custom character for a couple of months now using a mix of morphs and custom morphs I made through blender. I was really happy with the results so i exported and made a single full body and head morph (I think this was a big mistake). I then made a few more tweaks over the next few weeks and am finally at the point where I'm 100% happy. Now my problem is that I'm getting some weird wrinkling in the forehead when I have the characters eyes looking up, even slightly. I've been working round this by using hair with bangs but I’d like to fix it properly. I had read on here that I could fix the problem by dialing in individual morphs to see which causes the problem but I think I have too many baked in for that to work. I’d now like to split the head and body morph (this is gen 8.1 so I don't think the dev tool weight map head split would work) so I can use the body I'm happy with and start fresh on the head. Does anyone know the best way to do this or any other way to sort my wrinkly forehead issue?

thanks in advance.

Comments

• It's probably a demonstration of one of the reasons that exporting an OBJ and importing that as a single morph is a bad idea - you lose any links to corrective morphs for joint bends and morphs, such as expressions. If you still have separate OBJ files for the tweaks, or the final tweaked result as OBJ and the original mix of settings and new shapes you could roll back - load in the figure with the pre-consolidated set up, then import the final shape as a morph with Reverse Deformations enabled - that shoudl give a new morph to add to al the others that will get the same end-result, but with the pre-existing corrective links still in place.

• globallyglobally Posts: 118

Richard Haseltine said: