Anon is trying to learn How to rig Sim Hair ~Send Help

PandaAnonymousPandaAnonymous Posts: 54
edited September 2017 in New Users

I've been trying to figure out how to properly rig sim hair because goodness it's so hard to find the hair. I tried a few different tutorials I've come across but most of them are out of date.

I'm a newbie of newbies and I don't know a lot of about 3d and all these things... I'm more of a drawer to be quite honest so this is the first time I actually dabble here. 

So here is me seeking advice, tutorials, and tips on how to right sim hair either s4 or s3. If anyone can point me in the right direction please do, if not just watch in amusement as I carry on. 

Post edited by PandaAnonymous on

Comments

• PandaAnonymousPandaAnonymous Posts: 54
    edited September 2017

This is the first Sim hair I did

I have no idea how I manage to actually get the file so I can finally import it to DAZ but there it is.

I'm obviously doing something wrong because all those white hairs are not on purpose.

I also encounter a problem that when I change poses the face gets disoriented, so I had to equipped hair last.

Try1.png
    816 x 751 - 342K
  • SixDsSixDs Posts: 2,384
    edited September 2017

It is a difficult question to answer generically, Panda, as a lot will depend upon how the conversion was done and the import format, as well as how the hair itself was constructed. I am assuming that, if you got it into DAZ Studio, it has been converted to a Wavefront object format (*.obj). Sometimes textures will import, sometimes not - my experience is that procedural surfaces will work, but will require tweaking of the surface settings in DAZ Studio, while image-based textures may require manually applying them in the Surfaces tab. In your example, it appears that you have the diffuse (colour) maps, but not the opacity maps, which may be the source of the white areas, but I'm guessing.