How Can I Make My Iray Renders Look Less . . . Cartoony?

Hi. I'm new to the realm of IRay Rendering, as I'm a longtime 3Delight user, and I just got over the hump of making my IRay renders less "grainy" — I finally learned how to use IRay light "Lumen" values and I learned how to manipulate a few of the settings in the "Render Settings" tab just the other day — and now I have a new question for the hive mind: How the frak do I make my IRay renders look less like living cartoons and make them look more Photorealistic? I'm dealing with some fairly cartoony, comicbook-like subject matter, I grant you, but still, I'd like to get more Photoreal results.You can see my current lighting setup in the screenshots I've posted in the attachments. I'm using three ambient lights arranged in a three-point configuration (keylight, highlight, and rimlight, with the keylight positioned on the right side of the characters and set), and a point-light in the center of the large prop in the center. Any suggestions would be magnificiently appreciated!

—Andy H.

lighting-setup-persp.png
2526 x 1423 - 5M
lighting-setup-left.png
2527 x 1424 - 3M
lighting-setup-top.png
2526 x 1423 - 3M
lighting-setup-camera-1.png
2522 x 1422 - 4M
lighting-highlight.png
575 x 948 - 105K
lighting-keylight.png
574 x 946 - 109K
lighting-rimlight.png
568 x 947 - 104K
lighting-environment.png
603 x 732 - 128K
lighting-env-hdrmap.png
594 x 756 - 159K
lighting-effect-light.png
569 x 1186 - 125K
The_Gang's_All_Here_Iray_Render_001.jpg
5120 x 2880 - 2M

Comments

• BeeMKayBeeMKay Posts: 7,018

Do your characters and clothes all have Iray textures? Some look like they are 3Delight textures; they need a bit of extra-love to shine in Iray.

Also, switch "Draw Ground" to "on" in the render environment settings, so that the characters throw shadows on the floor.