My iclone experience

ScarecrowScarecrow Posts: 168
edited December 1969 in The Commons

I bought I clone five when it was on sale a year or so ago and the ads from Daz claimed it was the best way to get your Genesis characters moving. First let me say I'm a professional audio engineer, I do live sound for concerts and tech work for a professional recording studio, I know how to install software. I had to write to tech-support three times, and it took over two weeks just to get all the correct software installed and working properly. It took a minimum of two days for each response from tech-support, and the responses came already saying that the issue has been solved, so they weren't even going to check with me to see if it actually had been solved. You'd think if you were having a big sale on your product you would make sure the correct versions are included in the download package, or at least make it clear that you need to go update it right away. Tech-support taking two days to respond, really? Guess they're busy over there. Then once I got the software actually working correctly, I just found it to be a poor quality all around. It felt like they're trying to make a software that does absolutely everything, but it doesn't do any one thing very well. It's like that old saying jack of all trades, master of none. The interface is overly convoluted and difficult to use. Render quality is poor. And I didn't consider any of the character animations I got from it to even be usable. After all that hassle, I decided that I clone was not worth my time, It was a whole lot of work and $300 for no results. I decided to try Carrara 8.5 pro, And I love it, it does what you expect it to do without difficulty, and it has pretty much every tool you need as an animator. The renders look great. And the price is great.

Comments

• ChoholeChohole Posts: 33,604
    edited December 1969