Morphing Genesis to fit an .obj mesh

Hi all,

This is a rather unusual request for assistance but one I’m sure you guys will be able to help me on.

I’m a researcher who is interested in perception of body shape and at the university where I am based we are able to body scan people using what is essentially a bunch of Kinect sensors. This creates a sealed mesh that’s saved as an .obj file. Our plan of action was to use a series of genesis morphs to create that body shape and then manipulate the weight slider to show that body either plus sized or negative. This has posed several limitations, most notably time, it takes forever to tweak and sometimes the results aren’t quite right.

I’m writing to ask whether there is some kind of semi-automated way to do this whereby you could use the mesh as some kind of limit and the figure would then morph up until it hit the limit of the mesh thus creating the shape. If this can be done in another program, can you let me know what it is?

Also if there are any other recommendations, these would be much appreciated. Of course the plan is to be able to morph the resulting model up and down in weight convincingly, just like you can using Genesis in Daz.

Thanks guys,

Kris

Comments

• Richard HaseltineRichard Haseltine Posts: 98,148
    edited December 1969

Various modellers have the ability to constrain to a background shape, which might work (the main issue would be making key points lined up on the Genesis and scanned mesh, I think). What - if any - 3D modelling or sculpting applications do you have available?

• edited December 1969

Hi Richard,

To be honest we are open to ideas software wise. Do these modellers use something like ZBrush or something? forgive my naivety here, we are quite new to this stuff. any suggestions welcome

edited December 1969