Which Render is More Realistic?

I'm new to working with 3D art (any art, really), and I'm still trying to figure out render settings (among other things like lighting) to make renders more realistic. I've been playing around with gamma correction, and would like those of you with more experience to comment on the results. Which render is more realistic? Also, is there something I'm doing wrong (like some setting I should tweak) that you can see?

I took two renders: one with gamma correction off and 1.0 gamma, and one with gamma correction on and 2.2 gamma.

I think the one with gamma correction makes the eyes look too washed out, but that may just be me. I also noticed the gold looks too dull in the image with 2.2 gamma and gamma correction on. Something looks off about the hair in both renders, and I can't decide where it looks better (I'm using Garibaldi Express). I really like the skin in the render with gamma correction.

Thanks.

without.png
506 x 620 - 629K
with.png
506 x 620 - 661K

Comments

• fastbike1fastbike1 Posts: 4,077

Gamma isn't the only, or perhaps even the major factor in a render.

I like the left image better because there is more depth. The right image is flat and washed out. I wouldn't however consider either one realistic to any degree.

You should try to understand the use of shaders and textures and how they relate.

Finally, you then need to understand lighting. If Iray is your choice of render engine, then it wouldn't hurt ti understand how light works in the real world.

A lot of things to learn, so don't give up. Pick one piece at a time.

• Are you sure the Gamma Correction on option was set? The With render looks very much like an image rendered with gamma 2.2 but without the correction option (which removes the baked-in gamma correction from the textures so that they don't get double-corrected and washed out).

• mjc1016mjc1016 Posts: 15,001