GTX 980ti Vs Titan X for rendering speeds

cheefstickcheefstick Posts: 20

Apologies in advance if this isnt the right place for this question, or if this has been discussed a lot already.

Im fairly new to Daz and have completed a few renders on my system at home, with a GTX 970 and i7 4790k - and liking what I see so far.

My question is in the title I guess [GTX 980ti Vs Titan X for rendering speeds}. One thing id like to improve is the rendering time and was wondering if people could offer any experience

between the two? Is it just as simple as - the Titan has double the Vram, so its faster when it comes to renders? How much difference does

it actually make? If it was just for gaming id go 980 all the way, but this is really going to be for Daz and (hopefully zBrush) going forward.

Edited to add subject to body of post

Post edited by Richard Haseltine on

Comments

• RenomistaRenomista Posts: 921
    edited May 2016

I belive the general consensus is that the main deciding factor is the number of CUDA Cores and IRAY render performance increases pretty linear with the number of CUDA cores so you can calculate the performace increase easly yourself. (2816 vs 3072)

Main difference is the VRAM. With 12 GB you can render almost all complex sceens  even with 10+ Characters (i belive). While 6GB are allready nice and should be sufficient for a lot of things you might need to fall back to techniques like layering for very complex scenes.

Post edited by Renomista on
  • cheefstickcheefstick Posts: 20

Thanks very much for the reply, I thought this may be the case. Better get ready for some empty pockets for a while!

• nicsttnicstt Posts: 11,715

Speed-wise, tough to measure due to CUDA cores, as stated above.

This relates to cards from the same generation though; it is not as reliable using Cores from different generations.

Personally, I'd wait for Pascal cards due any month now.

• RenomistaRenomista Posts: 921
    nicstt said: