Mirrors in DAZ

Bos GraphicsBos Graphics Posts: 14
edited December 1969 in New Users

Hello, I am having a very odd problem with reflections ... it seems my girl wants to be a vampire against my wishes!
As can be seen in the attached screen caps, when I render the scene she does not reflect in the mirror surface, but her jewelry, shoes, and hair do! All the visibility settings are set correctly. The lights are standard spots and points. Her skin uses SSS, but her nails do not, and they don’t reflect in the mirror either. The mirror surface is standard, and I’ve used it without problems before. I’m not a novice, but I must be missing something simple which I hope will be obvious to someone! Thanks, JE

vampiregirl02.jpg
555 x 551 - 37K
vampiregirl01.jpg
1083 x 745 - 84K

Comments

• Richard HaseltineRichard Haseltine Posts: 96,888
    edited December 1969

Select one of her skin surfaces with the Surface Selection Tool, then in the Surfaces pane check to see if the shader has a Raytrace setting, and if it does whether it is set to Off (which would hide the surface from reflections).

• Bos GraphicsBos Graphics Posts: 14
    edited December 1969

Thank you Richard for your reply. Unfortunately, no luck.
    There are 2 settings on the skin surfaces, Reflect Ray Depth (which looks like it applies to the reflectivity of the skin's surface, not to whether it can be reflected) and GI Max Ray Depth in the SSS settings, both set to 1.00, the default. All the rest of the settings also appear normal, and I have reflected a model with similar skin in the past.
    I fear I may have unwittingly created a monster. Happy Halloween ... ?

• fixmypcmikefixmypcmike Posts: 19,565
    edited December 1969

I would think you need to increase those. They're probably set to 1 as default to avoid spending rendering time on non-reflecting items. See if increasing them solves the problem.

edited December 1969

Thank you for taking the time to help me with this.