Rendered images are darker in Photoshop

eldileldil Posts: 14

I've had this issue/question for a while, and I've mostly worked around it. But now I'm trying to work on my Lighting and postwork skills, and it's becoming more of a hindrance. I've seen threads on similar issues, and tried several suggestions, but I'm still getting the same results.

Enough with the preamble, here's the breakdown of the issue:

I've included a screenshot of a side-by side comparison of the same image file opened in two different programs.

I render an image, and in the Daz render window, it looks like the image on the left.

I save the file, and open it in Photoshop or Windows Photo Viewer. Now it looks like the image on the right. I'm still a noob on this side of things (with everything really), so I'm not sure if that's gamma, contrast, both, or something else that's changed.

I did try some digging.

This thread suggested that it might be my Windows Color profile, and suggested using IrfanView as my default Image viewer.

I downloaded IrfanView and yes, the images I open with it look the same as they do in the Daz Render Window (Left image). And, oddly enough, they look the same in MS paint.

So I looked at my color profile, I don't remember making any changes to it, and it looked normal. But, in order to rule out profile corruption or anything of that nature, I created a new Windows user, logged in and did another side by side comparison. Same results...
I’ve also tried changing the Gamma correction in my render settings to 2.2. While that did make a difference in the rendered image, the saved file is still darker when opened in PS or WPV.

So, I guess my Question is: How do I get these two to match up?

Or:

Should I be trying to match them up? If it’s a problem with my system, that’s one thing. But if it’s a difference in the way different programs open the images, should I just base everything on the most common viewing method?