double-checking consequences of moving files

I need to move my assets onto a new drive (running out of space on the current one). While I've found a couple tutorials on how to do this and am fairly confident I can pull it off, I'm a little twitchy about any unintended consequences.

I have a bunch of scenes, partial scenes, etc. saved. If I move the files, when I open one of these scenes or partials, will it still be able to find the assets even if they're in a different place? (i.e. when I load a character, will it be able to find the hair?)

Also, would it make more sense (or does it work better) to uninstall DAZ and reinstall it where I'm intending to put all my assets? It's an internal SSD if that makes a difference. I'm not tech savvy enough to understand if it needs to be on the same drive as the operating system to work efficiently.

TIA for any reassurance, warning, or advice.

Comments

• PerttiAPerttiA Posts: 9,517

Where is you content library installed at the moment, which drive?

If the content library is not on C-drive, the best approach would be to copy everything from the current drive to the new one and then change the drive letter of the new drive to one that holds your content library now,

• SilverGirlSilverGirl Posts: 188

PerttiA said:

Where is you content library installed at the moment, which drive?

If the content library is not on C-drive, the best approach would be to copy everything from the current drive to the new one and then change the drive letter of the new drive to one that holds your content library now,

Currently on C-drive. I just went with the default not realizing how much space it'd snarf up.

How do you install your content?

PerttiA said:

How do you install your content?

I use the install manager (and whatever default settings it came with when I installed it).