High RAM usage to the point Iray stops working.

Hi, I've looked into this and tried finding an answer/solution to this but can't seem to find anything.  I'm having a real issue with the memory usage when using DAZ, It's constantly at 100% when I try to use DAZ, I can barely move items around in a scene and a lot of the times, when I come to render, the Iray doesn't work and I end up rendering a black image.

I'm pretty new to using DAZ studio but my PC is fairly robust, so any help in getting the memory usage lower would be much appriciated.

My PC specs are -

GPU - 24GB NVIDIA GEFORCE RTX 3090

CPU - AMD Ryzen Threadripper 3960X 24 Core CPU (3.8GHz - 4.5GHz, 142MB CACHE)

64GB Corsair VENGEANCE DDR4 2666MHz

Comments

• crosswindcrosswind Posts: 4,782

With an empty scene ? Better explain what you've loaded into the scene...

• No, it's not an empty scene.  Currently, I've just set up a scene in a ship's cabin with 3 figures loaded in the scene as well as the props.  I can get maybe one render out before Iray doesn't load, I've attached a screenshot of what I mean, doesn't matter what I switch to, when I either try switching back to the Iray display or try render an image, I just get a black shot! 

Screenshot (590).png
    1632 x 1095 - 355K
  • PerttiAPerttiA Posts: 9,497

Help->Troubleshooting->View Log File

Attach (do not copy) the log to your post with "Attach a file" above the "Post Comment" button and we can have a look

• DartanbeckDartanbeck Posts: 21,226

Here's the thing - as crosswind was eluding to:

Some ship's cabin environments can have some pretty high details (maps, geometry, etc.,) and when you say three figures, those figures are likely wearing at least another three figures each.

This is what's kicking you out of your GPU.

I go through this fairly extensively in my Movie Magic show, but in essence - we can get Much Better results by rendering a Lot Faster using more of a VFX Studio sort of workflow.