Setting DS up for dual monitors?

jakibluejakiblue Posts: 7,281
edited December 1969 in The Commons

I've just plugged my 22" monitor into my laptop, and as I've never done this before, I have no idea what to do. LOL

I want to use the bigger monitor for when I use DS and Photoshop, but what I'd ideally like to do is have PART of DS on one monitor and part of it on hte other.

As in, the side panels - content, parameters etc - on hte smaller laptop, and the actual preview on the larger monitor.

How do I do this? Can I set it up so the bigger monitor is ONLY used when opening up DS? I don' want my desktop on both screens.

Did this make any sense?

Comments

• Zev0Zev0 Posts: 7,045
    edited December 1969

Just drag the tabs till they appear on the second screen. You must dislodge them so they are independant. Just pull the tab on the name and drag::) My content Library is on the second screen so I have a lot more space to work with.

• jakibluejakiblue Posts: 7,281
    edited April 2013

I don't quite get what you are saying. :D

This is what my DS looks like now - i want to have the preview pane appear on the larger monitor and both the sides...the parameter, shaping, render settings etc tabs, and the scene, content library and smart content tabs - appear on the smaller monitor (the laptop).

Can you "drag" the preview pane to the bigger monitor? I don't quite get how to do that.

dstest.jpg
    800 x 451 - 129K
    Post edited by jakiblue on
  • cwichuracwichura Posts: 1,042
    edited December 1969

Multi-monitor support is one thing that Studio could really do better at. To get the preview pane on the big monitor, you need to move Studio itself to the big monitor. Then undock the left and right tab sets and move them back to the small monitor.

• jakibluejakiblue Posts: 7,281
    edited December 1969

ooooooooooohhhhhhhhh.

yes, that works. LOL. Thank you!