Why should DAZ Studio User try Carrara?

Comments

• wgdjohnwgdjohn Posts: 2,634
    edited October 2016

UnifiedBrain,  Hello and welcome to Carrara 8.5 Pro!

You might find Dartanbeck's DAZ 3D Installation Manager 101a helpful for using DIM... be warned it's nearly an hour long. It's intro shows some cool animation/effects all done in Carrara.

Recommended other Dartanbeck videos are Carrara 8.5 Pro - FirstLook and Carrara 8.5 First Look 2. I've watched both even though I'm a long time Carrara Pro user.

Must Haves... DAZ Pay Tutorials: Note that these are on sale now and often are... well worth it when they are not.

If you have any questions don't hesitate to ask... Everyone is eager to help... and quickly too.

Post edited by wgdjohn on
  • UnifiedBrainUnifiedBrain Posts: 3,588
    edited October 2016

Thanks Dartanbeck, for trying to help.  I had already looked at the Cararra 8.5 Install Guide.  But I needed more specifics.  Still, I will attempt to start jumping through the hoops by asking the following questions.

Please keep in mind that my biggest issue is that I need to keep my small SSD C drive as clean as possible.  Unless support files MUST be installed on the same drive as the main program, I need to move them elsewhere.

Step 1 - Install the Carrara 8.5 Application.  OK, the one I want is 64 bit.  I assume that I will let the DIM put it on my C drive (SSD).  Probably no choice there.

Step 2 - Install the Carrara 8 Native Content.  Here there are listed 3 Native Contents (NC) - Cararra 8 NC (176 MB), Cararra 8.5 NC (1.7 MB) and Cararra 8.5 Pro NC (156 kb).  Do all of these go on the C drive?