directories dilemna

I am so sorry to post this, as I know most of you on here are Carrara gurus, and I am just a hobbyist...but... I only use Carrara. No poser or DAZ studio. I was using only V4 for years and manually downloaded everything into my runtime, so only had to point to one runtime. Now, using DIM for Genesis 6 characters, there is a new directory in my C drive/users/my libraries  etc etc, as well as a content/runtime in my F:program files/eovia/DAZ3D/poser 7 and F: program files/eovisa/DAZ3D/Daz STudio (or some such directories - I'm at work and typing from memory).

Do I need to somehow consolidate all those directories so that Carrara can see things, or does Carrara somehow know how to see them (not likely)? Is there a tutorial or thread that clearly explains exactly how to do it? I do not have good luck with the search funtion here on DAZ.

Thanks for any help. again.

Jay

Comments

• 3DAGE3DAGE Posts: 3,311

HI Jay :)

The folders inside the "program files" shouldn't have any content. (if you don't use either Poser or Daz Studio)

I suppose it depends on whether you had any content installed,. into a "runtime" folder,.. before you began using DIM,. you may have pointed DIM to that location,.

Since windows 7,. the Users files are stored under the User/MyDocuments,. or Public /Documents,. (for security reasons)

Poser and Daz Studio content installations also changed at that time.

DIM will use the Public/Documents folder to create a Daz3D / MyLibrary folder.

This is where all you Daz3D / Poser content files will be installed to,... rather than directly into the Program files/Daz3d/My Library, or, Poser / Runtime.

Genesis doesn't apear in the same Poser/Figures structure,.. it's smart content.

Daz Studio, uses a Database to provide "smart content" (genesis and above) .

DIM manages this database, and adds each product intalled,. it also uses this database to supply Carrara with a list of any installed content.