Dialogue? We don't need no stinkin' dialogue!

I've mentioned how I try to avoid dialogue in short animations, mostly because its a visual medium - show me, don't tell me.  But another reason is that dialogue can be really bad.   A favorite from the inimitable Ed Wood:  "He's Dead... Murdered... And Somebody's Responsible!" - Plan 9 From Outer Space.   But I'm not alone.  Here is a funny explanation by Mark Hamill about problems he and Harrison Ford had with George Lucas' dialogue in the original "Star Wars" (should start at 3:30, the relevant part):

Comments

• DartanbeckDartanbeck Posts: 21,326

Yup. Carrie Fisher said: "They always say you can write it, but you can't say it" when talking about here line to Admiral Tarkin.

Getting some dialog written and recorded is the biggest drawback I have - as I do want to have some dialog/banter. So I started studying screenwriting, creative writing, all this stuff... it's just time to stop studying so much and get some art 'on paper' (done).

It's easy to fall into a trap of studying so much that we lose sight of the initial project/story.

I mean... I do want to keep studying, yes. Just not so much to where I'm not getting anything on film

• Steve KSteve K Posts: 3,226

There are, of course, some dialogue writers that I really like: Tarantino ("Pulp Fiction"), Goldman ("Butch Cassidy", "The Princess Bride"), the Coen Brothers (everything they ever did), Noah Hawley ("Fargo" the TV show), Joss Whedon ("Firefly"), etc.  But as I mentioned a while back, I really like Stanley Kubrick's approach, especially like this:

"At some point about halfway through 2001: A Space Odysseyhere's what everyone should be thinking: 'WTF Stanley Kubrick? There's no more dialogue in this movie? I hate you.' No one thinks that because the film is a complete transfixing masterpiece."   - Mario Aguilar, Gizmodo

• TangoAlphaTangoAlpha Posts: 4,584