Jasmin hair problem

JonathanHJonathanH Posts: 0
edited December 1969 in Daz Studio Discussion

I set up a genesis toon character and used the Princess Hair for Jasmin on it. It renders all right. I can pose the character, and the hair always follows the character's neck and torso. I'm planning on using the character for a comic/manga so I need the hair to be able to move away from the body (for leaping, laying down, etc.)

There's a skeleton/armature/rig (not sure which term daz uses) for the hair so it seems like there should be a way to pose the hair. I've tried using the morphs that came with it. The head, neck, chest, etc. have bend, twist, side-side morphs. However, whenever I use those morphs, the hair goes crazy. The entire hair mesh gets distorted and it won't even stay on the head. I've tried pinning the head bone's translation and rotation but it doesn't help. I tried the hidden morphs but they don't help either. I'm not sure what else to try. I'm new to daz studio so maybe I'm overlooking something.

Comments

• marblemarble Posts: 7,449
    edited December 1969

Not sure whether this is the same thing that you are describing but I bought Sabrina hair in the Fast Grab yesterday and used it with a Genesis character. I was disappointed that it appeared to have no movement morphs but when I read the file list, I could see that it should have them.

I realised that I had allowed it to auto-fit to Genesis (because it was designed for V4, etc.). So I loaded it again and declined the auto-fit, instead fitting it manually and parenting it to the Genesis head. Now I can see all the movement and shaping morphs and it works just fine.

I can't say that I understand why some clothing or hair will retain movement adjustments even after auto-fit but others will not.

• kitakoredazkitakoredaz Posts: 3,526
    edited January 2013

I understand,, you tried to rotate rigs of hair which fitted to genesis (jusmin):roll: