New-ish member with a question about Bot Genesis

corrosecorrose Posts: 7
edited December 1969 in New Users

Hello all,

First time posting here.

I have been playing with Daz 3D now for a few months, kinda teaching myself as I go.
I feel like I have the basics down very well,posing, lighting, rendering, using morphs etc.

The area Im getting stuck in is some of the texture stuff. It's very overwhelming.

More specifically I bought Bot Genesis today.
I'm trying to replicate one of the images on the item post where the genesis model has the cyborg elbow, knee and ankle joints.
I apply the attachments and of course when you render, the joint areas render with the chrome texture, and the rest of the body in the skin texture I applied.

Is there a basic setting, or way to basically have the joint's texture just apply the skin texture so it looks seamless?
My background in design is photoshop, so the only way I can really ask in terms that make sense to me, is there a way to turn off the opacity of the built in texture, and allow the skin map to show through, or does it not work that way?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Comments

• JimmyC_2009JimmyC_2009 Posts: 8,891
    edited January 2013

I don't have this set yet, but you could give that a try. You will find the Opactiy slider in the Surfaces pane, just select the part of the texture you want to make transparent. There is also a Surface Selection tool (Alt+Shift+M) which will select the texture area for you when you right click. See if that works.

EDIT:

Thinking about this, I don't think that would work. Can you post an image of what you are seeing in the viewport?

You may need to apply a skin shader to the area, and we can help with that I'm sure.

Post edited by JimmyC_2009 on
  • corrosecorrose Posts: 7
    edited December 1969