Street Smartz - Hey this is my first real attempt at a final first render.

dee_dubdee_dub Posts: 0
edited December 1969 in Art Studio

Street Smartz - Rendered with the default settings in Daz Studio 4.5 with a little Curves adjustment in Photoshop.

Hey I've been floating around here since 2004 but never really did anything till this past month. I'm finally finding the courage to tackle 3D and hopefully find the patience to persevere.

Anyways I just watched the first few videos in the "Light Masters" from Dreamlight about Distance Lights and wanted to start something right away. The next video is on Point Lights so I'll take what I've learned from that and try another render and so on.

I did notice in this render that the shirt seems to be kind of glossy but now just remember watching something about how you can apply lighting settings to materials. Is that correct? I'll have to look into that :)

thanks for looking and your time, D.

C & C welcome :D

StreetSmarts_1.jpg
1200 x 900 - 207K

Comments

• Herald of FireHerald of Fire Posts: 3,504
    edited February 2013

The glossiness in his shirt can be remedied by looking at the specular and reflection settings. Specular is basically a 'faked' reflection, which shows the highlights in the material. If you bring the specular strength down a touch, it will help to remedy the over shiny t-shirt. Failing that, you can look at the actual reflection settings. If these are enabled you can simply disable them without any ill effects, as the specular's faked highlights will compensate enough. Once you're more confident with editiing materials though, you can find a good balance between the two.