Uh oh....

I've been using Daz for several years.  I just bought Carrara and started learning it.

The first brick wall I ran into with Daz was that the 3Delight render engine results just looked cartoonish to me.  Even with the best lighting products, scene setups, etc., the characters came out looking like plastic dolls.  Just a little better than a screenshot from a video game.  I wanted something more photo realistic.  That meant IRay and all the headaches that come with that (special shaders, special lights, souped up graphics cards, and on and on).

I just did some renders of V6 in Carrara with gama correction and realistic lighting turned on - and - uh oh!  The results are what I was looking for all along from Daz - and are lightning FAST.

Did I just spend years chasing solutions with IRay that were always available to me in Carrara?  Oh boy.  Time to go get a cup of coffee....

Comments

• DiomedeDiomede Posts: 15,125
    edited April 2017

Welcome to the Carrara forum.  smiley   Don't hesitate to ask when you have questions.  People try to be helpful. 

With that out of the way, to the extent that you are interested in Carrara lighting and realism, may I suggest that you take a look at PhilW's forum thread on realistic lighting in Carrara?  It is 19 pages so maybe just skim it first and see if it is interesting.

https://download.daz3d.com/forums/discussion/25644/make-your-most-realistic-renders-ever/p1

PhilW also has a Carrara realism course in the Daz store.

Post edited by Diomede on
  • DiomedeDiomede Posts: 15,125
    edited April 2017

Also, many of the monthly challenges have included a requirement to use a particular Carrara feature, function, or tool.  When you get interested in a particular Carrara topic, it can be useful and fun to skim through a challenge WIP thread that focused on a related topic.  The challenge links are stickied at the top of the forum.