New to Carrara... Diving in Blind!!!

staticstatic Posts: 325
edited December 1969 in Carrara Discussion

Does Cararra use Studio content?
Does it use Bryce content?
Hexagon Content?
Poser?

or do I have to make it all from scratch?
Or is there Carrara Only content to be found somewhere...?

Comments

• SockrateaseSockratease Posts: 813
    edited December 1969

In order:

Yes
    No
    Yes
    Yes

No
    Yes

• staticstatic Posts: 325
    edited December 1969

Cool, but I guess I forgot a question...part 2 of the last question, which would be:
    Where can I find that content?

edited December 1969

Great, thanks.

So, opinions, anyone?
    Is Carrara as good as its hype?
    I'm shelling out the big bucks here, as you all know and have done yourselves. I am no artist by any stretch, but I have an urge to reach for more than Studio or Poser. Is this going to be the right move for me? I'd appreciate your input.

• wetcircuitwetcircuit Posts: 0
    edited December 1969

Great, thanks.

So, opinions, anyone?
    I'm shelling out the big bucks here, as you all know and have done yourselves. I am no artist by any stretch, but I have an urge to reach for more than Studio or Poser. Is this going to be the right move for me? I'd appreciate your input.

Carrara does about 95% of what Poser or DAZ can do with content - excluding things like plugins, lights, and procedural shader sets that are exclusive to the individual programs....

It does a whole lot more too though. It's this "whole lot more" that will either make or break your enjoyment.

Rather than give you a whole feature list, here is a demo video for Carrara 8
    http://carraracafe.com/?page_id=60

DAZ's latest figure Genesis (the generation 5 people) is not yet fully supported, but the Carrara 8.5beta is made available with purchase that provides some compatibility with Genesis... That is the downside...

Look around the Cafe site for more info and a ton of tutorials...

• evilproducerevilproducer Posts: 9,050