New-User Tips

InkuboInkubo Posts: 744
edited July 2017 in Carrara Discussion

I'm just starting to learn Carrara, and as I figure things out, I'll share to help other newbies.

TIP:

Don't Let the Viewport Fool You

In the upper left corner of the viewport, you can select which camera to use to view the scene. If you choose a rendering camera, like the default Camera 1, then as you manipulate the viewport and move around in the scene, you are positioning the camera for the final render.

But beware that even if you're looking through Camera 1, the viewport can fool you. I have attached one image showing what I saw through my viewport, which was the perspective I expected to render--and another showing what actually appeared when I rendered. Note how in the viewport there is a lot of empty space above the character's head. The guy's eyebrows are more than halfway down the screen. But in the render performed using that camera without moving it, there is almost no space above the character's head!

The key is to alway show the Production Frame. Use View > Show Production Frame menu item to reveal it.

When I turn on the Production Frame in this scene, you can see that its box does indeed correspond to what the camera will render.

WARNING: In this case, the Production Frame is not centered in my viewport because I've used the 2D drag tool to move my view around. I was unaware until now that the 2D tool does not pan the camera.

What the Viewport Shows Me Thru Camera 1.PNG
1860 x 877 - 606K
What Carrara Renders Thru Camera 1.PNG
1862 x 865 - 871K
What the Production Frame Contains.PNG
1610 x 880 - 483K
Post edited by Inkubo on

Comments

• DiomedeDiomede Posts: 15,125
    edited July 2017

Welcome, Inkubo.  Great idea to start this thread.  Can be a great resource for newbies - and I look forward to following along.