Really Grainy Iray Renders...

SubGeniusZeroSubGeniusZero Posts: 61
edited November 2017 in New Users

Hi guys. I'm new to using Iray for renders (longtime 3Delight user here) and so far I've figured out how to light my scenes (somewhat), and how to control the light in the scene using the Exposure control in the Environment section of the "Render Settings" tab, and using the Luminence control in the Photometrics section of the "Lights" tab. But that's really all I've figured out. Anyway. My Iray renders so far are turning out REALLY "grainy" looking, and I was wondering if anyone could help me. I've got the scene lit with three Ambient lights — two coming in at 45 degree angles to either side of the main characters, and one coming in from the front of them — with their Luminence set to a value of 2500 in the "Photometrics" section of their "Lights" tabs. (Is that too low? Too high?) Then, I've got a Point Light situated behind them, about halfway between them and the "wormhole gateway" thing. Then, behind the wormhole gateway, there is a Spotlight, with its Luminence set to about 3500. Then, there are two Spotlights — one up high and out in front, focusing on the male character from about a 30 degree angle, and another, up high and out in front, focusing on the female character from a similar angle, both with their Luminence set to 2500. I've got the "Environmental Lighting Intensity" is set to "1.1" The Exposure in the "Environemnt" section of "Render Settings" is set to "11.3" right now. I've got my "Max Samples" set to 10,000, the Max Time set to 9,000, and the Noise Degrain Ratio set to .06, the default, with the Radius set to 3. What am I doing wrong?

Front-view.jpg
3840 x 2053 - 1M
Left-view.jpg
3840 x 2053 - 743K
Top-view.jpg
3840 x 2053 - 2M
Persp-view.jpg
3840 x 2053 - 2M
test_render.jpg
3840 x 2160 - 5M
Post edited by SubGeniusZero on

Comments

• BeeMKayBeeMKay Posts: 7,018