Bringing things to life...

So, I'm pretty new to 3D stuff. I realize a lot of this is probably just newbie confusion, so I'm sorry if it's dumb; please don't judge, lol. I've been really enjoying making 3D models in hexagon, and I have figured out how to make a texture in photoshop using the UV map and how to create a normal map for better detail on the model. However, because I am so new to the programs and the terminology, I am still struggling a bit with how all the stuff fits together. How do I use my texture and normal map and package them to make a realistic looking effect on my model? Do I need to turn them into a shader preset or something? I guess what I am asking is, do I need something else in addition? Do I also need specular and other maps, and if so how to make them? How to make shaders, to determine how light hits the object? And ultimately, once I have all the pieces (image files, settings?, etc.), how do I "package" them, or put them together neatly into a finished preset that can be easily applied to the product in DAZ? Ultimately, I would like to make content that I can share with other people, or even sell, so it is important to me that I put things together properly, rather than doing a sloppy job and even potentially leaving out an important element. And, of course, the end goal is to make something that looks lifelike in a render. Thanks in advance for your help!

Comments

• 3Diva3Diva Posts: 11,303

My recommendation is to buy a character or two (or if characters aren't your thing, then any 3D model sold in the store really) and take a look at how they have the texture maps set in the surfaces tab and play around with the settings and see what changing the settings does.