IK issue- need a hand fixing my hand fixing problem!

Hiya! Hoping someone out there can help me with this...am trying to create a series of poses in which the right hand of Genesis 3 figure remains static (the figure is standing with this hand resting on the mantle above a fireplace). I'm fairly new to Daz though with several years experience with Poser, so I'm fairly certain how this is achieved...applying IK to the right hand of this figure and I should be able to rotate/translate any bones in the figure and the right hand will do it's best to remain locked in position.

Daz seems a little more...."advanced" in it's IK functions, so as I don't want the hand sliding about in it's rotation any more than it's position, I've applied "Pin Rotation" and "Pin Translation" to the right hand of Genesis 3...in Poser this would result in a fairly robust lock. Sure, there'd be some wobbling of the hand between poses, but (in Poser) Vicky would sooner dislocate her elbow and shoulder joints than move that hand.

I'm not seeing the same effect in Daz. My Genesis 3 figure seems to be making no effort whatsoever to keep her hand on that mantle! Any bone from hip to forearm is pulling the hand off the mantle with no visible resistance and most telling the arm position from collar to hand is remaining constant...the arm is showing no attempt to straighten, twist or bend in an effort to maintain the hands position. What I am getting is a dotted purple line marking the extent of IK's (and my own) failure. 

The wierdest part for me is IK applied to the same figures feet is working absolutely beautifully! I can push Genesis 3 from a full stretch to a low squat with perfect position locking and realistic bending occuring between the hip-thigh-shin-ankle areas (much better than Poser tbh...hugely reduced wobbling and it doesn't have Posers tendency to push the limb into unrealistic, painful looking bends).