How Do I Make Character Models?

I just need to know how to make character models and I'm not sure if there's a tutorial for it that I missed. I don't even know if I have this in the right category...I'm a newbie at all this. Please help me.

Comments

• nonesuch00nonesuch00 Posts: 18,076

a) Do you want to learn to make 3D models? Much time learning, say a 3 - 12 months steady effort - for that you need to go to YouTube, search for Blender tutorials, and download the ones on topics you are interested in.

b) No, you want to use models you can buy pre-made products for to change the way they look. Download DAZ Install Manager, Install DAZ Studio, Install all the free basic models they give and spend time learning that. Buy products in the DAZ Store according to your interests and progress.

• sura_tcsura_tc Posts: 174
    edited January 2018

If you plan to make a brand new character model, it's a hard work. You are going to need basic modelling skills and an application of your choice. Daz Studio isn't one.

In a nut shell, it works like this.

Grab a nude human model photo that has front, side, and back.

Import them into your application into the background and copy its shape.

Once basic shape is done, get rid of the images and do the detailing.

At this point, you will probably want to do eye balls and mouth as seperate meshes.

Then comes rigging.

Above is for realistic figure. Cartoon-ish or anime-like figure is a lot easier.

... Good luck. You are going to need a lot of reading.

Post edited by sura_tc on
  • DiomedeDiomede Posts: 15,137
    edited January 2018

1) Creating your own mesh

DesertDude was kind enough to post a collection of free character (Blender) tutorial videos in this thread.  

https://www.daz3d.com/forums/discussion/comment/1439161/#Comment_1439161

The very talented Vyusur also has several useful free video tutorials under the name cgcreator.  Part 1 is here and will lead to some others.  

2) Creating a new morph for a Daz figure