Forest Mountain Flypast

uglybuguglybug Posts: 0
edited December 1969 in Art Studio

An experiment with Bryce (plus a tiny bit of PP in Gimp), to see If I could create a realistic looking, forest covered, mountain range.
I included the glider to make the render more interesting.

I admit that the trees don't bear looking at to close, and I forgot to add tail-wings to the glider , but I think it's not too bad.

As this is something I am testing, I would really like it if you could put your thoughts and some feedback as comments.

Thanks very much.

Forest_Mountains_PP.jpg
1920 x 1080 - 2M

Comments

• NovicaNovica Posts: 23,859
    edited May 2013

Love your color combination- the plane really stands out! :) One question though (and I am a newbie, so take what I say with that in mind, lol) Where is your light source supposed to be? The light on the plane appears to be from overhead/to the rear, but I don't get that feeling with the white section which is in the hills in the far distance in front of the plane. EDIT: because the light is STRONGER to the VERY far back, it looks generated from the back TO the front. Then it wouldn't hit the plane the way it is, I don't think)

It almost seems the light is streaming down a "gulley" section between the rising mountains but the light on the plane is coming from somewhere else? In other words, the light source seems too low (in the background) to put that kind of light on the plane from the TOP. (It's probably just me though.)

Where are your lights located?

Post edited by Novica on
  • uglybuguglybug Posts: 0
    edited December 1969

Novica said:
    Where are your lights located?

Good question.

I think the problem with it is that I lit using only IBL, and no direct lighting.

edited May 2013

Did you check on the light?