12 cores, maya, and morphs

edited December 1969 in Carrara Discussion

Ok yes I'm a noob, relatively speaking, so I have a few basic questions, and yes I searched the forum first to make sure these weren't already addressed, so here goes.

1.) Any way Carrara can recognize more than 8 cores? I have a 12-core mac pro but on the renders I'm only getting use of 8 of them.

2.) Has anyone worked out a recipe for getting Daz/Poser models into Maya? I have Daz 4.6, Carrara 8.1, Poser Pro 2012, and Maya 2014, and have tried (at least I think) every combination of format from all programs into Maya, and mostly I just get the models broken apart once they get into Maya, some more than others. Mainly I'm trying to get some of Stonemason's stuff into Maya, and although I would have thought FBX would've been sure-fire, it actually seems like collada does best, with minimal fragmentation, but still too much to spend time re-attaching everything. Most elements float a few feet above the ground level. The best solution so far has been exporting out of Poser into Maya, again using collada if I remember correctly. That seemed to do fine but the texture maps for the ground/street (in this case, Urban Future 4) take on this weird glass/water look where everything is reflected in its surface. Anyone solved this problem so far? Any of the vets here?

3.) And finally for now, along the same lines as 2.) - do Daz morphs work in Carrara? and if so, do I have to do anything to make sure they show up in Carrara and where would I find them / how do yo use them in Carrara?, And ultimately, can you somehow get the Daz morphs all the way into Maya intact? Mostly these are things like doors opening and closing, etc.

Ok that's it for now. You know what they say, long time reader, first... or maybe 3rd time poster. I appreciate any feedback, thanks guys!

Comments

• evilproducerevilproducer Posts: 9,050
    edited December 1969