Trademark, License own character creation?

poser_2146154poser_2146154 Posts: 0
edited December 1969 in The Commons

Hi,

i'm not a lawyer or anything like it, so i have a few questions concerning some of the content of the license agreement. Especially concerning one topic:

If i create a character with content i bought from DAZ3D or similar sites for a customer and use it in videos and animation, i have all the rights to the rendered 2d images of this character, right? So i could make movies or pictures with it and sell those pictures, right?

Of course i don't have the right to sell any source textures or geometries to someone else. But the created character itself as images and animation, i can sell?

Can i also trademark the character i created (as long as it is not simply a character like Michael 4 in his unchanged form)?

For example: I create a character for an online plattform that guides people through the site and call him Mr. Guideman or something like that. Can i make a trademark of Mr. Guideman or does the license prohibit such use?

I am only asking those questions because i'm trying to find out, if i can use DAZ content for creating things for customers. Not selling any 3D data, but just images and videos and the look of characters for example.

Comments

• WendyLuvsCatzWendyLuvsCatz Posts: 37,869
    edited December 1969

I doubt it using textures and morphs that are available to all.
    but
    maybe your own textures for sure, ie photographing human models and your own photoshop etc work as you would indeed own the copyright to those textures.
    Likewise possibly a very very unique morph using something like Zbrush etc but it would need to be noticably unique, not reallife like, ie a cartoon one as I do not think you can copyright a face!
    Even so you would be powerless to stop similar characters resembling yours being used esp for parody.