10 Reasons Why This Noob Is Considering Purchasing Carrara 8.5

JStryderJStryder Posts: 168
edited December 1969 in Carrara Discussion

I'm a hobbyist looking for original illustrations to decorate handcrafted things, make folk art, illustrate stories and such. Search led me to free 2D programs, then to cheap 2D programs, then to Blender, then to Studio 4.5 back in February 2013 when Daz started giving it away. Then I bought Bryce, Hexagon, and Poser. All of these programs have their uses. As an older guy I'm blown away by the complex and powerful CG-creation software that is available for free or nearly free, as compared to what was available just 10 years ago. It seems possible that had not Daz purchased Bryce, Hexagon and Carrara, one or more of these programs might have faded to complete obscurity a while ago, and wouldn't be available for modern platforms at any price. I'm a bit taken aback by the negativity in this forum surrounding the release of 8.5. I had been waiting for it before deciding whether to buy a copy. I understand the perspective of an old hand at CG or professional artist might be quite different than mine.

I like Bryce, Studio and Poser mainly because I can get results I find useful or even attractive in the very limited amount of time I have to spend on my hobby, at affordable prices.

Without further ado, here are my ten reasons why I *might* purchase Carrara 8.5 (not in any particular order):