Carrara, Windows 10, Windows 7 - troubles, or works fine

Retro LadRetro Lad Posts: 471
edited October 2018 in Carrara Discussion

Many people hate Windows 10 and describe it as a confusing load of crap. They prefer Windows 7.

I had to buy a replacement computer for my desktop computer which died two weeks ago and money being tight these days I settled for a temporary comprimise which is a 300 dollar 4 core laptop, on credit of course. It is preloaded with Windows 10, which I never used before, avoiding it like the plague.

So do any of you have the time to help me with understanding the major differences between Windows 7, which I have been using for many years, and Windows 10. And, is it just heresay that Carrara crashes too much with Windows 10, or fact.

I am not much of a general computer geek, so would it possible for me to say buy a retail Windows 7 operating disk, erase Windows 10 from my new laptop, and replace it with Windows 7 from the disk, or would that be fatal?

Post edited by Retro Lad on

Comments

• Well there are differences.

I had no problems at all, but I wasn't looking into details, didn't look for something to hate, I simply didn't care. Just installed Carrara and everything worked fine. (Keep the drivers up to date!)

• I have 2 laptops with Windows 10 and Carrara. One is an old one which was converted from Windows 8 to 10, the other one is a newer one which was shipped with Windows 10. Carrara works fine on both of them. I haven't noticed Carrara to crash more often than when I had Windows 7 on my former computer. The only issue I have on the older laptop is some OpenGL issues with the Inter 4000 driver, not limited to Carrara. It seems it got eventually get solved by Intel.