Oh My Stars! (or rather the lack of them)

BlumBlumShubBlumBlumShub Posts: 1,108
edited December 1969 in Carrara Discussion

Hi there,

I'm not a complete newbie to Carrara, but I haven't done anywhere near as much as I have with other software, mostly DS but also Vue.

I am trying to make a night scene and one thing I noticed in Vue is that I can say "Show stars" and there they are. I can't find any option to do that in Carrara. Am I missing something or do I have to draw my own stars with Tip-Ex?

I don't want to use a pre-rendered skydome or backdrop for this, but any other suggestions are very much appreciated.

Thanks in advance,
Barry.

Comments

• evilproducerevilproducer Posts: 9,050
    edited December 1969

Hi there,

I'm not a complete newbie to Carrara, but I haven't done anywhere near as much as I have with other software, mostly DS but also Vue.

I am trying to make a night scene and one thing I noticed in Vue is that I can say "Show stars" and there they are. I can't find any option to do that in Carrara. Am I missing something or do I have to draw my own stars with Tip-Ex?

I don't want to use a pre-rendered skydome or backdrop for this, but any other suggestions are very much appreciated.

Thanks in advance,
    Barry.

One of the things that some people are hoping for (myself included) are enhancements to some of Carrara's aging features. One of those is the Realistic Sky Editor (RSE). Right now you have a couple options for stars. Put a spherical image of stars in the scene background (they will appear "behind" any atmosphere you may use and you can pan and move the camera. You don't need to use a sky either, which is useful for space scenes. You also can put an image of stars in the scene's backdrop, but the image must be the same aspect as the render aspect. This will also appear behind any atmosphere you use, but it is static (unless you use a movie or image sequence). It's no good for animations where you move the camera.