Noobie Seeking Direction

edited December 1969 in Carrara Discussion

I am very new to Carrara previously having dabbled in DS. I tend to learn best by digging in and trying to do "things". What I would like to do is create a very simple animation using an imported character that goes a bit beyond "spinning the pose dials". I know that there are many tutorials out there but I am lacking the language to locate the ones that would help. Specifically, I would like to have the character (a child) put his thumbs in his mouth and pull backwards making a hugely exaggerated smile. Any pointers to proper terminology/language or appropriate tutorials would be greatly appreciated.

Bill

Comments

• wetcircuitwetcircuit Posts: 0
    edited December 1969

Whew. OK this shouldn't be too hard.

Carrara can use Poser and D|S "content". That usually means "bone-rigged" figures, like Victoria4 and Michael4 here in the DAZ 3D store.

Let's assume you already own some Content and you already have a Baby figure.

You will launch Carrara, and add the Content Runtime to Carrara's Browser. Now the figures, Poses, Props, and quick Textures will show in Carrara's Browser under the CONTENT tab. Open a new scene, medium scene size (aprox 30ft x 30ft) and drag the figure onto the INSTANCES TAB, or drag directly into the scene window. Apply the figure morphs that shape the figure to the baby (or dial the baby to the proper shape). In the Browser under Poses drag the texture set (sometimes called "mats") onto the baby. Drag clothing and props onto the baby to add them to your figure. lastly find a Pose that looks reasonably close to the position you want your baby in (ie: sitting, sucking thumb)

You can select the baby's limbs and use the ROTATE tool to fine tune the baby's arm until he is sucking his thumb, basically your start position. Zoom the camera using the gold Camera Controls so you are able to render the first frame as desired.