Questions on "content" for Cararra 8.5 from a newbie...

LinkRSLinkRS Posts: 168
edited December 1969 in Carrara Discussion

Hi Everyone,

I have been using Daz Studio off and on for a couple of years now, and can bluf my way around it now. After reading up on Carrara and the deals with the new version, I decided to take the plunge with the anticipation of potentially creating my own custom characters and objects. I purchased it (Pro Version) and installed it using Daz Install Manager. Before I installed it, I had narrowed my installation of Daz (Studio) content to Daz 4.5+ only, as I do not have Poser installed. This seem(s|ed) to (have) work(ed), but I have noticed that much of my content does not show up in Carrara. While perusing the documentation for Carrara, I have come to conclude that Carrara uses either Daz 4.5+ (.duf), Poser files, or DSON only. All of my older content that is in the older .ds? files will not work. So my question here is, do I need to install the DSON content in addition to the DS 4.5+ content to have it available for both Studio and Carrara? I have noticed that when I had the Pose compatible files installed when I was only using Studio, I got duplicates of things in the "smart pane" where it showed both what I presumed to be the Studio content, and the DSON content. So I removed it to simplify my library. I am probably using the wrong terms here, so I apologize in advance if I use the wrong terms. Thanks!

Rich S.

Comments

• DiomedeDiomede Posts: 15,125
    edited December 1969

LinkRS said:
    Hi Everyone,