Nimos Old Barns to Carrara

paulg625paulg625 Posts: 4
edited December 1969 in Carrara Discussion

I am wondering if it is possible to get this product, Nimos Old Barns, to open in Carrara? I know it is a Bryce product but it comes with Obj files. I am a Noob to Carrara. So not sure if I can open Obj or if I can convert it some how to something Carrara can read?

Comments

• bighbigh Posts: 8,147
    edited December 1969

paulg625 said:
    I am wondering if it is possible to get this product, Nimos Old Barns, to open in Carrara? I know it is a Bryce product but it comes with Obj files. I am a Noob to Carrara. So not sure if I can open Obj or if I can convert it some how to something Carrara can read?

check your import formats !

• paulg625paulg625 Posts: 4
    edited December 1969

bigh said:
    paulg625 said:

check your import formats !

Ok, remember the part in my post about being a Noob to Carrara. How do I check import formats? Are you refering to a setting or are you refering to documentation ? if setting I looked at preferences didn't see anything about import file settings?

• DiomedeDiomede Posts: 15,125
    edited October 2013

In the upper left, click
    File -> Import
    and you will see a dialogue. The second box is labeled "files of type". A whole bunch of file extensions will be listed. You can get a better view of them by clicking the drop down menu button on the right side of that box.

Many common file types are supported. I'm sure Bryce can export in wavefront obj, so you are covered there. However, someone else who uses Bryce more than I do will have to chime in on what formats are best for transferring from Bryce to Carrara.

Post edited by Diomede on
    edited December 1969

diomede64 said:
    In the upper left, click
    File -> Import