Nova

Sky HndxSky Hndx Posts: 142
edited December 1969 in Art Studio

Here are a few renders I made based author Samuel R. Delany's 1968 sci-fi novel "NOVA". I'm a fan of Delany's work and have based work on scenes and characters from his stories for practice. All characters were made using Michael 4. I model the clothing, props and everything else in Hexagon 2.5. I use an older version of Daz Studio to render. I tried version 4.5 when it became available but it slowed my computer and I really didn't have time to peruse the forums for helpful hints on what to do with it.

I try to keep the images and designs close to how they're described in the books and improvise when I need to. I'm getting a kick out of referencing older material and keeping them simple as opposed to creating over ornate objects and costumes. ...I'm still practicing after all. My modeling skills are improving, I need to learn more on lighting and cameras and I'm still learning Daz Studio at a snails pace but I'm having fun.

The first render is titled, "Mouse". His name is Pontichos Provechi. He's a gypsy from earth, a "cyborg stud" a term for people who crew on ships and operate them via plugs grafted into their wrists and base of the spine. They control technology in this universe directly through the radial nerves and spinal chords. Like Delany's "the kid" from "Dhalgren", Mouse wears only one shoe. His "sensory syrnx" is his prized possession it can project animated holographic images accompanied by sound and aromas

The second is titled, "The Crew of the Roc on Hell3". The crew are from left to right are Mouse, Katin Crawford, the twins Lynceos and Idas, second in command Tyy her companion Sebastian and his winged gillies.

The third is titled, "Pirate". He's Captain, Lorq Von Ray with Von Ray Industries freighter The Roc. The heir of a rival family dubs his family as pirates.