Animate Shader in an NLA clip? SOLVED!

DesertDudeDesertDude Posts: 1,234
edited April 2021 in Carrara Discussion

Hi All,

I'm a noob when it comes to creating and using NLA tracks. I had a thought for an experiment using an animated shader but can't even get a simple animated shader to show up in an NLA track, depsite the fact it is listed as an option when I click on Track > Parameters > right mouse button to access some advanced options. It's listed in the pop up menu (see screen grab), but no matter what I do I can't get simple animated shader to "stick" or show up in the NLA Clip.

I have tried adjusting the Shader when the Clip is in Edit Mode (Edit Clip), and it animates as expected, but...still isn't part of the Parameters for the Track or attached to the Clip. I tried converting to a Master Clip and bringing back into the timeline, but still no luck.

I noticed there is a 'Show Other Parameters' option (again, see screen grab), so out of curiosity I added a Modifier, and that showed up. 

I have gone through the Carrara Manual for the section on NLA, watched the section on NLA in Phil Wilkes 'Learning Carrara 8.5", Googled until my head started spinning around, and tried searching the forums, starting with Dartanbeck's 'Carrara Information Manual'.

So, can this even be done? I'm sure I am doing something wrong or missing something obvious.

Thanks for your help.

nla_screen_gab.jpg
703 x 797 - 87K
Post edited by DesertDude on

Comments

• evilproducerevilproducer Posts: 9,040

Never tried that before.

• WendyLuvsCatzWendyLuvsCatz Posts: 37,814
    edited July 2019

Possibly something Fenric’s ERC could be used for if you have it

hope he puts his DAZ store stuff on his website one day for those who missed out to buy

I bought everything from DAZ of his

only thing I don’t own AFAIK is his bone hider and mix map to sampling fixer off his site

Post edited by WendyLuvsCatz on
  • DesertDudeDesertDude Posts: 1,234