New frog in the pond

mecomeco Posts: 0
edited December 1969 in Bryce Discussion

I am shamelessly cut and pasting a post on another forum as per Miss B's advice:

After a daunting install of Bryce Pro, please allow me to introduce myself: I’m a boat builder by trade, and use a surface modeling program called ProSurf to design aluminum boats. ProSurf is an incredible application that does many things well except one - that being, rendering the 3D geometry output. Nor does my beloved general purpose CAD program, DesignCad. Prosurf exports to DXF, IGES, STL and TXT. I understand that Rhino is a favorite of the boat crowd, but, alas it is ‘spensive. After much searching, I chose Bryce because of its amazing price and that it imports DXF.

I am not a geek in any way. I do not program nor am I a power-user of ANY application. To me, a computer and the attendant software is merely the same as a drill motor: I just want it to drive a screw and not talk back or squeak while doing the deed. This, of course, after my requisite training period.

So, after a bit, I put one of my skiff’s in a nice body of water, with a nice cloud cover. It looks only OK. Could someone please tell me how to get in the proper mental state to approach, what is for me, the least intuitive piece of software I’ve ever encountered, that being: THE MATERIALS LAB! It just seems impossible to me that I can easily choose to make the surface of my skiff some phantasmagorical nightmare but that it could be a click or two away from ‘looking’ like aluminum is beyond.

Am I missing something too simple?

Regards,
Mark

Comments

• GussNemoGussNemo Posts: 1,855
    edited December 1969

Welcome to the Bryce forum, meco.