Question about importing custom models...

WsCGWsCG Posts: 391
edited January 2014 in Bryce Discussion

Hello all,

I'm a newbie DAZ/Bryce user who's decided to dive in and seriously learn the program. I've used it in the past and thought it could do some neat stuff, but it always struck me as more of a "toy" than something that could be capable of serious production-quality work.

That is 'til I happened to check out some of Dave Brinnen's videos on YT and saw what it's actually capable of. That pretty much got the ball rolling lol. He also provided some awesome advice, which I took immediately to heart, which was to seek out Real World Bryce 4 (or something like that). He'd warned it might be difficult to find, but I was fortunate to find that there are several available on Amazon, and at very good prices... so I snatched one up. In reading its reviews, I saw that it seems to be considered pretty much THEE go-to bible for Bryce, even being out-dated by a few versions. So thank you to David for that advice :).

So...

I'm working on the first of what will be many projects, based around a fictitious world I've created for what would be a fantasy RPG I'd love to somehow get around to creating some day, and am slowly working away at. I figure it would be a nice way to get these places out of my head and on to the screen in some way.

The first scene I'm working on is in high, frozen mountains, near the home city of the Avin. The Avin are this world's most elusive and enigmatic race. Living among remote and frozen mountain peaks, few outsiders will even dare journey there. The Avin are perfectly happy about that. Though they acknowledge the benefits and importance of maintaining trade and communication, the less 'exposure' they have with outsiders, the better.

If I was actually a better character/creature/people artist, I could come up with a sketch of them. Unfortunately, I'm not.