Avin Trail (WIP)

WsCGWsCG Posts: 391
edited January 2014 in Bryce Discussion

Hello everyone,

Though I started another thread where I posted the first of my in-progress screenshots, I thought it would be more appropriate to start a thread specifically for that purpose (the other thread was more to ask a question).

This render is what I would really just call a basic "block-in" shot for what will (eventually) become a narrow, winding mountain path leading up to the city of an elusive race, known as the Avin, from a fantasy world I've been working on for some time. As I'm just starting out with learning Bryce seriously, and do my best learning when I have a specific context to do it in, I figured taking locations from around that fantasy world would be the perfect approach.

As I said above, at this point I'm just more or less blocking the scene out, to get relative scale, basic lighting and everything more or less how I want it (though I suspect some things will change radically by the time it's done). From there I can refine and work on more permanent assets. The large floating rock on the left represents where the entrance to the city, with some buildings and such, will be. It will be a floating city, so I wanted to get something in there representing that.

I find I'm able to visualize things and remain much more motivated about a project if I have some kind of visual feedback to work and build from. So, this early setup helps a lot to that end, as well. I can look at this early render and "see" the final result much more clearly than if I were just imagining it - if that makes any sense.