"Coke-Bottle" Glasses

Just a small accessory item that could be fun. A set of THICK eye glasses that distort the wearers eyes like a magnifying glass.
I trired playing with the material settings, but my understanding is that the shape needs to be correct to work properly.

Comments

• RKane_1RKane_1 Posts: 3,037

The problem is the lack of volumetric rendering, I believe. I don't think that IRAY has the capability to create a glass like materials that distorts things like a lens would. (I could be wrong, I am no expert.

A work around would be to get glasses and then make the eyes literally bigger with a morph. :)

• ChoholeChohole Posts: 33,604
    RKane_1 said:

Can The problem is the lack of volumetric rendering, I believe. I don't think that IRAY has the capability to create a glass like materials that distorts things like a lens would. (I could be wrong, I am no expert.

A work around would be to get glasses and then make the eyes literally bigger with a morph. :)

Does DS have no way to change the refraction index?

• KitsumoKitsumo Posts: 1,215

You'd need to apply a dformer to the lens and change the shape/thickness of it. Once you do that, refraction works fine.

• NorthOf45NorthOf45 Posts: 5,436

You might find this thread of interest: How to make refractive glasses in Iray?

• Oso3DOso3D Posts: 14,957
    edited December 2019
    RKane_1 said:

The problem is the lack of volumetric rendering, I believe. I don't think that IRAY has the capability to create a glass like materials that distorts things like a lens would. (I could be wrong, I am no expert.

Uh, that's not remotely true. Iray totally has volumetric rendering. You just need to define a realistic shape, then you can set how refractive it is (weight) and what IOR it has. You can also color the volume in various ways, including a flat tint (refraction color), SSS, and transmission color (which increases intensity from edge to a certain depth into the substance).