Why are there so little animations for sell on the site?

thchacksuitethchacksuite Posts: 32
edited December 1969 in Art Studio

I'm making a turn based rpg using flash/php/mysql and as I'm not good at making animations for characters I've been looking for a long time to find animations for genesis 2, like shooting arrows with a bow, casting magic spells etc. But browsing through the site (and the net) I can only find a handful of vendors that offer animations. I'm wondering why, because there are loads of fantasy clothes, props etc. for daz3d so why are there so little (fantasy) animations available?

Comments

• bighbigh Posts: 8,147
    edited December 1969

I'm making a turn based rpg using flash/php/mysql and as I'm not good at making animations for characters I've been looking for a long time to find animations for genesis 2, like shooting arrows with a bow, casting magic spells etc. But browsing through the site (and the net) I can only find a handful of vendors that offer animations. I'm wondering why, because there are loads of fantasy clothes, props etc. for daz3d so why are there so little (fantasy) animations available?

because they are easy to make
    so no one would buy them

• thchacksuitethchacksuite Posts: 32
    edited December 1969

bigh said:

so no one would buy them
    To be honest, I haven't really tried to even make one, but I've seen loads of crap animations made with daz3d(youtube) where the character is walking and it looks as if it got shot several times. Not even close to realism. But let's say you're right, then I don't understand why there are so many static poses for characters on the site, these are easier to make for sure.

• ReisormocapReisormocap Posts: 146
    edited December 1969

bigh said:

so no one would buy them

I have to take exception to this statement.

Yes, animated poses are easy to make. However, they are very difficult to make well.